Protein Waffles   1 comment

I asked on FB this week for protein-rich breakfast foods that freeze well and can be reheated easily. My friend Becky (who has truly been my friend since back when she was my sixth grade teacher – one of my best teachers ever!) shared a recipe with me for waffles with a protein punch.

I tried it out this morning and was amazed at how “normal” they taste! I did add a 1/2 c of flour and a teaspoon of baking powder to the second batch (me and my compulsory tweeking…) and found that they had more of a regular waffle consistency. Here’s my adapted recipe.

1/4 c butter
1 t vanilla
6 large eggs
1/4 c milk
1 c cottage cheese
1 c flour
1 t baking powder
1 t sugar

Blend all ingredients in a blender just until smooth. Do not over blend.
Bake in a hot waffle iron.
If you wish, sprinkle with wheat germ, flaxseed or oats after you pour into waffle iron (I liked this the one round that I remembered it!).

I figured up 80 grams of protein for the whole recipe. With our waffle iron, it made 12 waffles, so almost 7 grams of protein per waffle.

Yummy waffles, and I like that they have so much more protein!

Posted April 11, 2010 by smithlaurel in Breakfast

One response to “Protein Waffles

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. those sound tasty!!

Leave a comment